Existence

by adrian.dakota

“It’s okay, it’s all over. It’s okay now… you were great.”

I could feel him there, his presence, the pressure all around me, but still…

“I can still see it all. It was the only way left. I looked. I looked straight through it and saw it all.”

And that’s when he knew. And I knew by the tightening of his arms around me. “No…”

“I see it. All of it. The past. The present. The future. The parallel worlds. And it hurts… it really hurts…”

I pushed forwards, trying to see, but the world around me was gone. I was the world. All the worlds. But I felt him push me back straight, and he hugged me tightly, but I could see it all… flashes of existence before my eyes. And it hurt. My head hurt.

“It’s okay… I’m here,” he said.

“There’s more…” I coughed. “I broke the fundamental laws of dimensional contact. It can’t happen. And that’s it – I’m being rewritten from time itself. All the reincarnations of me, across the dimensions. Across the worlds. And it’s all real. Everything. The imaginary worlds all exist.”

More flashes. Visions. Images and understanding. Knowledge. A blessing and a curse.

“And…” I finished, “and… you. Everywhere. I can see into what might have been. You and I. Together. And it… it’s painful… everything… I… I don’t want to go.”

“You’re not going anywhere… not when I’m here.”

His arms tightened even further, but there was no use. I wanted to stay with him, but I knew I had to leave.

“I don’t want to go.. but… I’m leaving the fabric of time itself. And it’s really a fabric, that’s as soft and delicate as…”

“You,” he finished. “You’re everything to me.”

“But I never was. Not anymore.”

I tried to push him off, tried to close my eyes to block the visions, and found they were gone.

“It’s gone now,” I said. “Just blackness.”

And I was falling, falling, falling…

But I knew, when I got to the end…

He would be there to catch me.

