The Stars: Part One, Death Star

by adrian.dakota

“Raymond, I love you.”

Jace’s voice echoed in my ears. Again. And again.

No. No. It was impossible. It could not happen. A relationship between the two species was banned. Even though… even though I probably loved him, I couldn’t dare it. I wouldn’t dare it.

The consequences were too disasterous.

“Jace…” I said, wondering how I say phrase it all. “Jace… why now? Why do you tell me now?”

His black eyes disappeared behind thin eyelids for the briefest of moments. Then, when they opened again, I could see them brimming with determination.

He’s not going to back down.

“Because I only realised,” he said, his overgrown black hair tossed behind carelessly. “Only when you said you were leaving. I realised that I couldn’t survive without you.”

“You knew that I was going to leave sooner or later,” I said shortly. I tightened my hold on my bags and looked at his solemn face straight in the eye. “What made it different now that it’s actually happening?”

“I didn’t know. If I knew, I would have told you earlier.”

I laughed, and it was a high laugh, one genetically inherited from my father. I never liked to use it because of the effect it had. And when I opened my eyes again, vision blurry with tears, I could see Jace flinch. He was afraid of it. Just like anyone else would be.

Especially an agent of the light.

“Jace,” I said plainly, “you knew from the beginning who I was. You knew I was a Death Star.”

I saw him hesitate. His firm, outlined face looked crestfallen. And at that moment, I knew.

It’s time to leave. Because you don’t deserve him, Raymond. You don’t.

Perhaps. But I still wanted to.

“Raymond, I –”

“You can’t,” I said firmly and quietly. “You can’t.”

And, against every single cell in my body, I turned and walked past him for the door.

“Wait.”

A hand grabbed hold of my arm and pulled me back.

A/N: Expect Part Two soon! (But not so soon. I’ll be in Singapore and won’t be able to write for a while.)

Part Two

